Phuket Beach Time

After a month long of classes at CMU, we got a chance to head to paradise.  While the study abroad experience was officially over after this 4 day experience in Phuket, I did not to want to end this journey abroad, luckily for me, I was about to start a two month internship back in Chiang Mai. What can you say about Phuket, and to me it was a better version of Hawaii, not because it has better beaches, but because it was six months after the Tsunami that I arrived in Phuket.

We stayed near Kata Beach, an alumni of Washington State owned a hotel near the beach.  We arrived at the hotel around 9 at night, and everyone wanted to go to the beach, but for some reason I got into funks when I was in Thailand, I don’t know if it was the heat or just tired from the travels, but I went straight to bed. I don’t know if it was the heat or the malaria pills but after that night and the severe sunburn in Bangkok, I decided I was done with those pills.

The next day was my biggest adventure yet, because I was going to be James Bond!  We got up early and headed for Rawai beach to get on a speed boat, but I was hoping for a long tail.  I am glad we got on a high speed boat as the ocean was choppy that day, yeah I guess it wasn’t so bad for those sitting in the back, we were in the bow of the boat and got crushed by almost every wave. The trip was a long one, it seemed like it took hours to even get close the the limestone islands on the way to James Bond Island.

I thought we would never get to James Bond island, but when we finally arrived, it was like I was in the movie, flying in low with the little seaplane.  We came around to one side of the island, I was like this isn’t it.  The guides on the boat said to follow the path.  I was giddy, almost like I was 8 or 9, the first time I saw the Man With The Golden Gun.  For some people Bond is a great movie series, but James Bond was one connection I had with my father.  We watched so many when the cable tv channels would run the series during the holidays, I think my Dad and I watched each 2 or 3 times.  James Bond to me is one of my last memories of my father, he tragically passed in an airplane accident when I was 14, so this trip to the island, brought me back to that place in time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

